Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

May 21st, 2015 12:00

Heat sink Problem with inspiron 5520 15R

hello , as the title suggests there is a problem with my heat sink it works normally when u start the laptop 
most of dell laptops once starting u would hear the heat sink so im sure its working because it does that the problem is when the windows starts up it doesn't operate its at a complete stop i cleaned i cleaned the vents so im sure its not that but what i have in my mind is the processor paste might be the problem so im wondering if that can cause the heat sink to fully stop operating because the temperature isn't delivered to the temperature sensor ?
im an engineer i know how to tear my laptop apart in case i need to apply that paste just want to make sure before i open it 
thanks in advance :) 

4 Operator

• 

3.5K Posts

May 22nd, 2015 16:00

Here is a simple troubleshooter on when the notebook might be running too hotly.  It sounds like that you may have already went trough most of these steps but I wanted to touch base on how the system is performing. Is the system showing any signs of overheating.

What is Normal System Heat?

System can become warm to the touch during usage when -

• Using for longer than 10-15 minutes.
  • Watching a DVD/Blu-ray.
  • Streaming online video.
  • Watching or Interacting with Flash Content
  • Playing Video Games or Online Games.
  • Using near a heat source or in a hot environment

What symptoms will I experience if my system is overheating?

• Random Shutdowns
  • System Locking up
  • System Freezing
  • Random Reboots

My question is, are you experiencing, random shutdowns, is the notebook locking up, freezing, or rebooting? If not then you are probably fine and don't need to apply thermal paste.