Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Help! My new Dell Studio XPS 13 Laptop keeps on freezing up!

(at least it was SCSI HDD until the engineer replaced it with an inferior SATA drive)

This system never shipped with a SCSI HDD. I have been supporting various lines of Dell hardware for 11 years now, and have never seen a SCSI drive on a consumer system. I have never seen a SCSI drive on any laptop, but if there ever was one, I plead ignorance, but know for 90% certainty that a Dell laptop never  had one.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
fourells5
1 Copper

This system never shipped with a SCSI HDD. I have been supporting various lines of Dell hardware for 11 years now, and have never seen a SCSI drive on a consumer system. I have never seen a SCSI drive on any laptop, but if there ever was one, I plead ignorance, but know for 90% certainty that a Dell laptop never  had one.

My Studio XPS 13 shows a "WDC WD32 BJKT-75F4T  SCSI" as the HDD device name even though the Western Digital site shows it is a SATA drive, so I can see why Jangla thought it was a SCSI drive.

0 Kudos
Anonymous
Not applicable

Oh yeah! I've seen that in Device Manager before, too, come to think of it. I blame Microsoft for the confusion. emoticon.BigSmile.title

0 Kudos
fourells5
1 Copper

Hello again to those participating in this topic, I'm just checking in to toss some positive feedback into the pot.

I have been running my Studio XPS 13 with BIOS A06 and Vista Home Premium 32-bit for several weeks now, both plugged in and unplugged, both online and offline, with not a single freeze or other aberrant behavior. My activities include watching DVDs, ripping and burning music from my CDs, messing with the webcam and video chat, and doing some web development work.

For me the problem ceased completely after reinstalling Vista 32-bit over my stock 64-bit from scratch (no reformatting or repartitioning), then doing the BIOS upgrade to A06 from A04.