Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

D

May 28th, 2017 03:00

Inspiron 13 7378 - problem with external monitor

Hi,

The screen on my external monitor goes blank intermittently. Sometimes it happens only once but more often it happens few times in a row.

I had been using a Samsung external monitor for two years before I bought my Inspiron 13 7378. The problem started immediately after I connected my new Dell laptop. 

I tried few different HDMI cables but it didn't help. Obviously, the problem is not in HDMI cables. Of course, I have been downloading newest drivers all the time. I've been running diagnostic tests from the support page. Tests pass all the time. 

I contacted the Dell support and after few calls I was suggested to install video driver directly from Intel's web pages. I did and it didn't help. Also, I was told that they could not help me with troubleshooting the external monitor because it was not a Dell monitor, which is completely understandable. 

Few days ago I bought a Dell monitor, P2717H, because I hopped it would help to have both the laptop and the monitor from Dell. Guess what, it didn't help.

I also tried the USB-C to HDMI converter and no luck.

I'm in contact with Dell's support again, I hope this time we will solve the problem.

Has anyone had the same problem? And have you found a solution or at least the cause of the problem?

3 Posts

June 22nd, 2017 09:00

I'm glad I've found your thread!  I've got what seems like the exact same problem with an Inspiron 15 5578.

It happens to me when playing video.  At least that's what I mostly seem to be doing when it occurs.