Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

October 17th, 2013 17:00

Modding a Vostro 3750 laptop to have touch screen. Looking for advice.

Hi,

I am looking for any advice I can get regarding the installation of a touch screen panel into my Dell Vostro 3750 laptop. Willing to spend over 100$.
This will be a Christmas project so I have time to prepare every detail.

Please recommend brands, products, assembly/installation techniques or even a full guide. I have never done this before. But I take apart laptops and PCs as a hobby and for a living both, so I am not inexperienced either. Feel free to use technical jargon.

Technical specifications and my special needs:
• The current screen is the default that came with the machine: 17.3" LED.
• I am not sure whether I need to buy a 17" or 17.3" touch screen kit for that. Windows 8 makes heavy use of edge and corner pixels, so I will probably go with 17.3". Get better 1:1 mapping that way too. On the other hand 17" would not flow over the edges. Help me decide?
• Also, here is a mysterious discrepancy: The screen dimensions say it is 15.5"×8.98", but then sqrt(15.5^2 + 8.98^2) says that would be 17.9". Probably because it is not an edge-to-edge display panel, but thought I would mention it just to be thorough.
• I would prefer a resistive touch screen, as capacitive does not work with gloves and my favorite stylus. But it is just a preference, not requirement -- capacitive is fine if that is what you have experience with.
• I reside in Hungary, Europe, so international shipping is probably not avoidable.
• If I could also upgrade the current WXGA++ (1600×900) to a nice full HD 1080p (1920×1080) resolution during this project, then I would be very happy. Even if it costs me another 100$.

Misc note - Almost everything is modded out already in this beast of a machine. I changed: