Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

July 30th, 2010 00:00

New HDD ??

I'm thinking about upgrading my HDD for my 6400/E1505 Inspiron? So far the only thing that I find deficient  in current PC is it's meager 105 GB HDD.  Does DeLL sell larger HDD to replace my OEM ?

6.4K Posts

July 30th, 2010 13:00

The 6400 will use any standard 2.5" 9.5mm SATA drive as ejn states.  Any adapter can be removed from the old hard drive as I've been doing with my old Inspiron 5160 for six years now.  You can purchase the drive from Dell if you wish, but you will generally pay more for it.  Dell buys them just as you can, only they usually buy in large quantities direct from the manufacturer.  They don't generally pass any volume discount they may get to the purchaser, however.

6.4K Posts

July 30th, 2010 14:00

Seagate, Western Digital, Hitachi, Samsung, Toshiba, and I've probably left a couple out, all sell hard drives for laptops.  Check out this page:  http://www.newegg.com/Store/SubCategory.aspx?SubCategory=380&name=Laptop-Hard-Drives

Saving your data and reinstalling from scratch is not a bad way to go.  I've done it many times over the last twenty years on various computers.  A clean installation gives you a fresh configuration that isn't littered with the remains of many programs that have been installed and removed over the years, and a clean installation generally runs faster than one that has been around longer than a year or so.  This is usually a straightforward process, but it does require considerable time since you must install the os, drivers, and any applications you wish to continue to use.