Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

December 27th, 2009 23:00

No sound from my laptop speakers once I disconnected the headphones

Hi Guys. I've been using my Dell laptop (Inspiron 6400) for more than 3 years and now when as always removed the headphone from the laptop to hear the sound from the speakers (the original speakers of the laptop which are internal) the sound didn't come out again. Now I only can listen to music when I use headphones. Has it ever happened to you? What Can I do?

December 28th, 2009 01:00

my laptop is Studio XPS, and since morning I've had the same problem!

Have you tried contacting technical support?

December 28th, 2009 02:00

Hey Reza!

I just found this solution over the net, it worked for me! it was amazing!

please have a read over it:

I think you have a problem with the headphones jack in your laptop. There are contacts inside the headphones jack, you can see them if you look inside the jack. When you plug the headphones into the jack, the plug shorts these contacts and the sound switches from the external speakers to the headphones. Apparently, these contacts got stuck in the headphones mode and because of that you cannot hear any sound from the external speakers.
I’m not sure if you can fix this problem yourself, probably you’ll have to take your laptop to the repair shop. Try plugging and unplugging your headphones a few times in a row, do it fast, it might help to release contacts inside the jack.

http://www.asklaptopfreak.com/laptop-notebook-help/2008/02/04/speakers-stopped-working-after-i-used-my-headphones/

December 28th, 2009 02:00

Thank you for the answer, but I have no warrantee anymore on my laptop. If you still have ask them let me know if I can do anything to fix it.

4 Operator

• 

13.6K Posts

December 28th, 2009 05:00