Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

March 5th, 2010 11:00

Studio & XPS Users experiencing video lockups and freezes / Throttling issues

If you have questions regarding 130 watt power adapters, please refer to the thread below:
Attention Studio XPS 1645/47 and Studio 1747 owners

For all others, I am not an engineer so if you have something you would like to see added to this initial post, please PM me and I will add it.

Since rumors are that there are different motherboard revisions, please download the 64bit version of CPU-Z here.

In the Mainboard tab, please tell us your Model # and BIOS revision as well as the model of laptop you are using.  Please make sure you are running the latest drivers.

So again, please provide:
Model of laptop
BIOS Revision number
Board Model
Power supply (130w/90w)
If you are running non-Dell-approved drivers, please tell us what version(s) you are using of those as well.

After you have put this in the header of your response, please state what issues you are still having with:
Throttling
System lock-ups
Performance between battery and AC adaptor plugged in
Playing HD streams
USB power
Sleep or hibernate issues
Fan constantly running at high speeds
The engineers and developers are (from what I can tell) doing a pretty decent job of trying to find a cure for all of the issues so let's try and make this as concise as possible for them to make things go faster :)

77 Posts

March 12th, 2010 05:00

Users in the New XPS 1645 crashes constantly thread mention that removing the SB X-Fi software has helped.    Anyone here able to confirm?

Hello Todd,

on my Studio ST 1747 (received December 2009) I do not have a Sound Blaster software, only the "IDT  HD sound" control panel. (I did not uninstall, because I do not experience lockups, only the hick-ups mentioned several times that I relate to HDD access -- I am still waiting for a HDD widget!)

55 Posts

March 12th, 2010 06:00

I understand completely....