Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

Closed

November 29th, 2017 16:00

TB16 Docking Station USB Ports Stopped Working

I have been using the TB16 with my XPS13 for several months without problems. Last week the USB ports on the docking station stopped working. I have kept up with all the updates for the laptop and the docking station as well as Windows 10. Any advice?

3 Posts

December 6th, 2017 00:00

I was having the exact same issue on my XPS 13 - after the latest Windows update my dock's USB ports & ethernet stopped working.  Reinstalling the Thunderbolt Controller Driver did the trick to resolve both issues.

For what it's worth, there are multiple versions of the Controller Driver floating around.  The latest one is here: www.dell.com/.../driversdetails

4 Operator

• 

754 Posts

November 30th, 2017 05:00

Hi clarklc1,

When you say stopped working, do you mean that they do not recognise if anything has been connected? Is it all the USB ports that are affected? Do they still have power? Do all the other ports on the dock work?

Try powering off the dock by disconnecting the Type-C cable and then removing power adapter from the dock. Then power on the docking station by connecting the power adapter to the dock before reconnecting the Type-C cable to your computer.

4 Operator

• 

14K Posts

November 30th, 2017 06:00

Did you happen to install Citrix Receiver last week?  If so there's a known incompatibility with older versions of that application, so you have to make sure you're using version 4.9 or above; Dell has a KB article about it that includes a link to download a newer version.  If that's not it, do you see any devices showing errors in Device Manager, particularly in the "Universal Serial Bus controllers" section at the bottom?  If so, what is the detailed error message when you double-click the device(s)?