Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

February 22nd, 2009 14:00

XPS M1530 : Temperature problem

Hi guys!

I've a problem with my new XPS M1530. All the time the cpu and gpu temperature is so high (around 80 C). It seems like the bios doesn't control the fan properly.

When I start some 3D application, like a video game, the temperature grows up until 100 C. Then the computer shuts down immediately! 100 C is insane!

When I bought the computer, this event only occurred after 30 minutes using the 3d aplication. But now, with only ten minuts the computer shuts down. This is really worrying me, because I'm a game developer, so I really need this feature working. And it's a new laptop, with only 6 months!

I patched the laptop with the new BIOS (A12) and with the latest nvidia drivers. Also, with the nvidia system performance, but I don't have access to the fan control, so nothing is getting better

So, I don't know if the problem is with the motherboard, the fan, the graphic card (8600 GT 256 mb), etc. This happens to me, and one friend who bought one laptop with the same configuration as me, and in the same time period. So we're two with this problem with the same laptop.

I've searched on internet and forums. Other people seems to have the same problem, but none of them posted in the official forum. So I decided to do it.

Any advice? Thanks in advance!

315 Posts

February 22nd, 2009 23:00

;^) There is an application called FanGUI.  It's shareware, and it allows one to control the laptop's cooling fans.  One can set the temperature threshold at which the fans will be switched on, and how fast the fans should go at each temperature.  So, they could kick in at half speed at first to save power, then kick in to high gear when/if the temperature hits a higher threshold.

It's difficult to describe every detail, but the application is a real Godsend.  Just run an Internet search for it, and you'll agree that it's the bee's knees.

5 Posts