d7v7d
1 Copper

new XPS 9550 no audio

Seemed to be a no audio problem on my new XPS 9550 that per below I eventually have somewhat resolved. Am posting this in case it helps others.

There was no audio in most situations I checked.  Out of the box did not change audio defaults.  While setting up the system and loading applications and files I did not notice whether audio was ok or not because was involved with installing programs.  But after installing Firefox noticed there was no sound when actuating video news links. Did not install any audio media applications, just imaging applications as I am a photographer.  I have been an electronic hardware tech in Silicon Valley for decades so am very familiar with testing and troubleshooting equipment that does not work especially computer hardware and software.

Went online and search for "XPS 9550 audio" and noted some others were having audio issues but different than below.  Did note some were reinstalling audio drivers.

By bringing up Settings...Dell Audio...AdvancedRestore Defaults then selected the Restore button to make sure the PC was set to defaults that of course would have sound functions enabled generating sound.  Actuating that button caused it to go black, light blue,  then blue indicating a function ran.

Settings...Dell Audio...Speaker tab shows MAXXAUDIO PRO.
Selecting Speaker setup selecting the speaker icon button runs the speaker stereo test correctly with sound generated.  However later when repeating this function the audio sometimes began but prematurely muted as though the mux channel glitched shutting off. Also selected Equalizer ON OFF ON but no change.

Much more debug beyond the above then read on the Dell support page to try uninstalling then re-installing the audio drivers of which there were 4.