Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

September 25th, 2016 06:00

RE: Inspiron 14z 5423 Optical Drive Not Working

Hear Jennifer, I have the same problem,

Model is inspiron 5423, 14z ultrabook with i5-3317u 1.7ghz, 8gb ram too.

Please help.

Restart and pressing F2, the SATA is NONE.

What do you mean by "Now kindly delete upper and lower filters from the registry settings then see if the issue is resolved. "??

I do not understand how to delete upper and lower filters from registry setting

9 Posts

September 25th, 2016 06:00

My DELL inspiron 14z 5423 is not detecting DVD/ CD for a very long time.

Restart laptop and press f2, the SATA shown is NONE.

i5 3317U, CPU 1.7GHz, 8.00GB, 64 bit.

I am not an expert in computer.

Kindly assist and provide download link or detailed instructions.

2K Posts

September 25th, 2016 20:00

Hi ACOIN,

What is the current OS installed on the system?

Is the ODD detected in device manager? Check for all sata info in BIOS - press f2 on startup and view the sata info and see if the ODD is listed.

If the ODD is seen in BIOS and in device manager, then you could delete the registry settings - see link for help - http://bit.ly/1DzRGa9

If the ODD is not seen in BIOS - Restart the system and press f12 key on startup - choose diagnostics. Let it run the diags and if you encounter any errors - make a note of the complete error and report the same to us.These are onboard diagnostics and they might possible pick some error if the hardware is not functional.

Also, please click my DELL-username and write me a private conversation with the service tag and your contact details(Name and Email) for case records.

Let us know if you have any other queries.

9 Posts

October 10th, 2016 03:00

Dear Rishi,

Dell inspiron 5423, intel core i5-3317u cpi@ 1.70 GHz

Restart Bios

Fixed hdd: hitachi HTS545050A7E380

SATA ODD: none

mSATA device: samsung ssd pm830 mSATA 32GB