Player1_4eva
1 Copper

Latitude 5289 2-in-1 issues with sleep mode

I've been running the above notebook now for about 9 months or so and this has not been a great experience compared to other Latitudes that I have owned/used.

Issues:

1. Out of the box my Bluetooth failed and had to be replaced.

2. Various quirks around Sleep mode - I have set the notebook to go to sleep when the lid is closed but this is not always the case.

3. When sleep mode goes awry I sometimes open my laptop at my destination and find the keyboard disabled. I have to use the touch keyboard or reboot to get access again.

I had some spare time to have these issues looked at with ProSupport and 2 weeks ago I logged the request, and my mainboard was replaced. On Monday morning I attempted to start my notebook (from sleep mode) and it would not boot with only the keyboard backlight flashing periodically. As soon as I connected the charger the power light on the button came on, but nothing else. I logged another call and my board was replaced again yesterday. It would not boot with the battery connected.

I did some reading this morning and left it to charge for 30 min as requested and low and behold it booted - battery obviously in "Storage mode". 

I've read other threads about severe battery drain in sleep mode on these units - would love to hear others' experiences.

Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
1 Reply
Highlighted

Re: Latitude 5289 2-in-1 issues with sleep mode

@Player1_4eva wrote:

I've been running the above notebook now for about 9 months or so and this has not been a great experience compared to other Latitudes that I have owned/used.

Issues:

1. Out of the box my Bluetooth failed and had to be replaced.

2. Various quirks around Sleep mode - I have set the notebook to go to sleep when the lid is closed but this is not always the case.