Start a Conversation

Unsolved

F

11 Posts

May 14th, 2018 15:00

Miracast on Windows 10

I am not a techie!

Bought Chromecast, followed directions, can't get e6430 to connect. Have the correct miracast opening screen up on tv set to windows . Laptop claims it does not support miracast. Yet it is a 3rd gen processor with intel graphics. Have set lattitude to search for new device but it cannot find anything other than existing phone, wireless speaker, wireless head phones and fitbit.

2 fruitless hours trying but no luck. Anyone see a problem?

4 Operator

• 

14K Posts

May 14th, 2018 17:00

You should be able to activate Miracast by holding the Windows Key down, pressing "P" (for "project"), and then clicking "Connect to a wireless display" in the sidebar that appears.  If that's not working, then where exactly is the laptop claiming that it does not support Miracast?  And what WiFi card do you have?  Miracast is a notoriously finicky and ill-supported protocol, but if your system claims it doesn't support it at all, then that's probably your answer, and it's probably related to the WiFi card.  If you wanted to upgrade that, the Intel 7260HMW would fit into that system and probably be a significant upgrade from whatever came with an E6430.  They're about $30 on Amazon, but make sure you get the Wireless-AC 7260, not the Wireless-N 7260, since the latter only supports 802.11n.  I have no idea why Intel used the same model code for two different cards that have vastly different capabilities, but they did.  It's also important to get the HMW, not the NGW in your case.

11 Posts

May 15th, 2018 08:00

Hi JP

Well that is a comprehensive answer! Thank you.

FYI I have gone through set up with chromecast one more time today - settings, add a device, clicked choice of wireless display. The black box that appears and scans cannot find. Ran a diag in LAN card utility all ok but discovered the card is a Dell 1504 802.  There appears to be a WLAN 802.11 adapter.