Start a Conversation

Unsolved

T

37 Posts

June 8th, 2020 04:00

SCSIAdapter – 7/23/2019 12:00:00 AM – 17.5.3.1026.

Today (08 Jun 2020) my PC successfully auto updated Intel Corporation – SCSIAdapter – 7/23/2019 12:00:00 AM – 17.5.3.1026. The update was from the Dell Corporation.

At the end of the update the following message appeared.

Unable to inject the driver into Windows Recovery Partition

The issue does not impact Intel Optane memory functionality. You can continue the installation, but should inject the installed driver into your Windows recovery environment once the installation process is complete.

Not doing so may prevent the Windows System Recovery environment from detecting your Intel Optane memory enabled computer in the event of a critical system failure.

Can you please advise, with as much detail as possible, (I am a complete novice) how to inject the driver or anything else I need to do to.

Thanks.

June 10th, 2020 02:00

What is this driver supposed to do?

Last thing I want to do is to cause an irreversible BSOD.

37 Posts

June 10th, 2020 03:00

Noobgamer011

Update.

Using Win 10 Pro x 64. When I checked for updates there were two. One was the usual Windows security the other was the Intel one. They automatically downloaded. The Security one installed but another window appeared to install the Intel one. I thought it was Dell but on reflection I think it was the Intel Driver & Support Assistant. It took approx. 20 mins at the end of which the message I posted earlier was shown. A restart was required and done and I now have an Intel Rapid Storage Technology icon on my desktop. It has also created a folder within the Downloads folder called Intel Driver & Support Assistant. Within that folder is an application file named SetupRST.

So I am totally baffled.

Has it installed?

What is it for?

What is Intel Optane memory?

Do I need it?

If so how do I inject it into the Windows Recovery Environment?