Highlighted
mi_sh01
1 Copper

XPS 13 Developer edition advice please

Took delivery of my Ubuntu loaded XPS 13 a few days ago. During the first 24 hours I experienced several crashes which left it unable to reboot, after several factory resets it does now seem to be a bit more stable but does still occasionally crash leaving me with no mouse pointer for some reason. 

While I do have some prior experience with linux I am a relative novice. I am interested in running linux on my main PC and am willing to tackle the learning curve and do the work to get things working. There is a flip side however in that I also need a stable machine which I can rely on on a daily basis.  

I would love some advice from folks who've had their machines for a little while, given my need for reliability would I be better off returning this and buying the equivalent Windows version instead then installing a linux distro in a VM? I realise that this is to a large extent a matter of personal choice but have a short window in which to make a decision and would welcome any input from more experienced users.

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
bobmcch
2 Bronze

RE: XPS 13 Developer edition advice please

Hi there,

There are a few issues out of the box I'm afraid. Since you're wanting to get better at Linux, I'd encourage you to stick with it. The best way by far is to force yourself to use it every day. The only counterargument to that is if you have needs for certain software in Windows. e.g. if you depend on Outlook or running some Windows apps every day then maybe your productivity depends on Windows. But if that's not a concern, I wouldn't let a few issues put you off as they'll only help you learn faster.

You probably do want to minimise the pain of the issues as much as possible though so that you're not overwhelmed or too frustrated and want to give up.

So, perhaps backing up any files you've created so far it might be good to start from scratch. It seems that there are two popular options.