Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

January 9th, 2010 16:00

Updating from 9.04 to 9.1 on Dell Inspiron 15n

Hello. I recently purchased a Dell Inspiron 15n with Ubuntu 9.04 preinstalled on the system. Instead of trying first on my test pc or reading more online, I updated to 9.1 with unfortunate results. My mouse no longer works, I am using a USB wireless mouse instead. My Wifi seems to work, something that was not working 100% prior to the update. I have also noticed that I cannot enable desktop 'effects' so it was my guess that I needed to reinstall some sort of drivers from Dell. I also noticed that the Dell Repos were no longer in my list of repositories. I am interested in learning something new, but I am not an expert Linux user. What I want to know is should I try to figure everything out, or should I just revert back to using 9.04? Would a clean install be a good idea? Has anyone else successfully completed this upgrade? Any thoughts would be appreciated. I have a 2nd system that is running 9.04 that is currently up and running. Thanks!

4 Operator

• 

11.1K Posts

January 9th, 2010 17:00

www.ubuntuforums.org has a Dell forum

3 Posts

January 9th, 2010 18:00

Yes I am a member and have posted the same question under the 15n thread. I have experienced more problems since posting, Totem and Rhythmebox result in reboot. No sound (that I can tell) at boot or any other point. I have started to move my data for a recovery. :-\

4 Operator

• 

11.1K Posts

January 9th, 2010 19:00

I'm sorry to hear that 9.10 isn't working out for you.

9.10 works on my Latitude D400 and also my Dimension 4100 so I am not going back. I don't use Dell's files. I use the regular Ubuntu files.

3 Posts

January 10th, 2010 07:00