Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

July 7th, 2013 22:00

SCOM 2012 monitoring of M1000e+PowerEdgeM910

Hello colleagues!

Here is the situation. We have enclosure M1000e with 7 blades PowerEdgeM910.
I'm new in hardware monitoring via SCOM, so please sorry if my questions are dummy:)  
Now the goal is monitoring of this hardware via SCOM 2012.

My steps:

1) I've downloaded and installed latest management packs and imorted them into Management server of SCOM 2012.
2) I've installed agents on my M910 blades(under Windows Server)
3) I've discovered enclosure M1000e via Network discovery rules and found it(snmp)

So for now the problems are:

1) I see in the SCOM monitoring state view(inband)  only one blade server  first  phisically installed in the enclosure.
So why i can't see other 6 blades? what do i need to do to solve this issue?
2) I see in the CMC view only basic status of enclosure. Is it normal?
3) How to monitor iDRAC consoles?Steps?

38 Posts

July 8th, 2013 22:00

Ohhh then there lies the problem. You need to install OMSA on all the servers that are to discovered through In-Band.

You can get from Dell support site.

38 Posts

July 8th, 2013 03:00

Do you see all the blades come under SCOM Administrators Pane's Agent Managed view. If you see them then enable the logging and see the differences.

To enable logging go to the Authoring Pane, Click on Object Discoveries, Right click on Dell Server Discovery and enable logging

To monitor iDRAC you need to obtain licenses. Please go through the IG of Server MP5.0.1

July 8th, 2013 04:00

Thanks for answer V Bhima Raju!

Unfortunately i see only one blade server and don't see other 6 blades.

iDRAC. No, i don't want use this for monitoring. "in-band" monitoring is enought for me.

Yes, ofcourse, i use IG of Server MP 5.0.1

July 8th, 2013 04:00

Well, Dell Server Discovery enabled by default.

38 Posts

July 8th, 2013 06:00