Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

December 20th, 2013 11:00

Dell Venue 11 Pro (5130 Atom Bay Trail) Stylus issue

Hello,

I have gotten my tablet for about a week or so and I am really disappointed in the stylus which is a deal-breaker for me. It´s inaccurate and just not usable in a professional sense. Palmrejection sometimes does work and sometimes doesn`t. One day the stylus clicks where I tell it to and the other day it´s off by some millimeters, or just dancing around the tip of the pen. The stylus keeps writing although the tip doesn´t touches the surface anymore (see picture below) and so on...

I am a student and thought it would be a nice idea to have a tablet with a digitizer to take notes with a stylus during class and write directly into the script of the profs, but atm it´s just not possible and as far as I have noticed, I´m not the only one who thinks this way. 

I have taken these pictures to show you what I mean. On the top I drew some lines with a ruler. The bottom two lines show how it could and should work (aside from the end of the lines where it just points in another direction). The rest of the lines are just plain <ADMIN NOTE: Substitute character removed as per TOU> and I want to point out that I didn´t rush to draw these lines, I did it in a calm and slow motion.

I just don´t get how DELL could release a product which is clearly not ready for what it is meant to be and has bugs all over the place. 

Here are pictures of me trying to write and another to show you that it is not just my handwriting that sucks.

My final question is, is this a hardware problem or just a software problem ? If software, are firmware-updates coming out in the near future ?

PS: I´m from Germany so if some parts I wrote sound weird, that´s why ;D

December 21st, 2013 10:00

Hardware problem. They tried working around it in software, but there's only so much that can be done there.