Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

October 30th, 2013 17:00

Dell U2413/U2713H (or Windows 8 perhaps) Color Management Issue

Hello guys!

I am a graphic designer/excessive Photoshop user and I just purchased Dell U2413 in order to get, in combination with my Nvidia Quadro K2000 graphic card, a true wide gamut/10-bit color work environment which is very important for what I do. (Nec or Eizo wasn't an option because I've already spent so much money on the other hardware and I've opted for Dell because I've heard that's the best display in this price range - in my country, with taxes, it cost me 566 EUR).

Before that, I was working on iMac for almost a decade so separate hardware pieces or Windows operating system was a completely new (and, I must admit, pretty terrifying) territory for me. However, after everything was set up, I tried to calibrate my monitor for the first time and then I was pretty unpleasantly surprised! Namely, I already have X-Rite i1 Display Pro colorimeter and a few optional software for it (ColorEyes Display Pro and baslCColor display 5 was much better/suitable for me because of their L * option for TRC so I was never using it's original i 1 Profiler software which is a LOT inferior compering to previous two), but because Dell in it's manual stated to use it's UltraSharp Color Calibration Solution software exclusively, I decided to give it a go and to try with it. But, on my (as I already said, very unpleasant!) surprise, i was inferior EVEN from i1 Profiler which, as I've stated, never was an option for me.