Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

August 2nd, 2011 19:00

Dell Ultrasharp u2711 monitor - color management??

Hi,

I'm completely new to all things about color management, calibrating, profiling etc and I'm not even sure if I can make a difference between all these things.

I bought this monitor (on order, haven't received it yet), partly because I wanted a bigger screen but also because I thought that getting a display like this would give me the possibility to show my photographs with accurate colors. Now I don't know what to think about it cause when I read on the web, all becomes really fuzzy and really confusing. When I read about the display, it says that it comes already calibrated and color managed, all ready to go. But when I read what people write about it, they claim that you need to calibrate and to color manage or whatever, to make it accurate.

I use Lightroom to edit my RAW's and Lightroom uses ProPhoto RGB as its working color space, am I right? So here arises some questions.

What mode should I use for my monitor if I want to show my workflow as accurate, in term of colors, as possible and should I assign a color profile for the monitor in Windows? If so, which one?

I just want it to be as easy as possible. I want my workflow to just be accurate on this screen and what I'm wondering is how I can make sure that it is just that.

What I also wonder is what happens with everything that isn't ProPhoto RGB, like sRGB for instance? Will those things look just as it does on my sRGB screen (does not have wide gamut)? Cause I don't want to shift between modes all the time just to make sure that the content I'm working with or looking at, at the moment, views properly. I just want to have one setting and have all content show accurate in terms of color accuracy.