Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 2nd, 2009 09:00

monitor registration problem

I have purchased a 19" monitor model E1909w on 27 june, 2009. I want to register it online at the page. There is a place to fill service tag number. In example they shows a service tag number of 8 letters. I could not find any number of such type at the back side of monitor. Only one number is given in this format - 00-000000-00000-000-0000. But the online registration form did'nt accept it. At this page there is also a place for company's name. I am a student I have no company. What should I do now to register the product and get the warranty.

2 Intern

• 

20.1K Posts

July 2nd, 2009 10:00

Registration is for systems, not monitors alone. Your monitor is warrantied automatically and doesn't have a service tag.

806 Posts

July 2nd, 2009 11:00

not so sure on that one. if a monitor is purchased stand-alone, or seperately from a complete system, it should have a service tag.

OP - where did you get the monitor? i take it you did not purchase it from dell?

2 Posts

July 3rd, 2009 02:00

I had purchased it from open market.

Community Manager

• 

54.2K Posts

July 4th, 2009 20:00

maze singh,

Only the 27" and 30" monitors have a service tag. All others get a Dell order number. You need to get the original Dell order number form the reseller so we can look it up.

2 Posts

March 22nd, 2012 15:00

I wish I had known that before I sold my Viewsonic 23 "  which requires nothing  for 3 year   which I was happy with  and purchased a Dell  24"  ST2421L monitor which from what your telling me it can not be registered and if I can not get some kind of Code from Frys Electionics that I basicly bought a monitor with NO warranty from Dell.    That is sad as I am a Tech and have always recommended Dell products over HP and others because of there quality and rarer problems.