Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 10th, 2008 08:00

General Question in Cloning

Hi All,

I am new to the networker. In my organisation, they written a script to run cloning ,once after the backup gets completed. But we are not a big organisation. In a big production environment, did they follow the same method or can anyone please share what are all the other better way to do cloning..?

Thanks in Advance,
Deepak.

724 Posts

July 10th, 2008 09:00

Well, there's not many ways to do cloning. One way is to use scripts, and the other is to set a group to automatically clone after it's complete. And I bet there will be large companies using both methods.

I'm a big fan of avoid scripting as much as possible, but I have customers where I can do this, and others were I can't. Usually, how you're going to handle the clone tapes, and who do you have monitoring NW will play a major role on this, at least this is what I see when talking with my customers.

Tell us a bit more about your need, do you have a lot of clone operations? Do you have another team that will handle the tapes (i.e., take it from the library and move to another building)? How do you, and who, verify if the clone operations were successful?

2K Posts

July 11th, 2008 00:00

Apart from the cloning you are doing, you can also do cloning of individual volumes through the Media->Volumes screen. Select the volume, right click and select Clone Volume...you would be prompted to select the Clone pool and cloning will start.

28 Posts

July 11th, 2008 01:00

Thanks for the reply Daniel and Anuj...

I am just eager to know how others are implementing Cloning.. This a why i asked this question...

To Answer Daniel question, We will verify the cloning results by a email . We will receive any email once the cloning completes and i am the one transfer the cloning tapes to the diffrent site.

198 Posts

July 13th, 2008 04:00

Hi,