Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

February 29th, 2012 12:00

Index only backup creating two volumes?

Hi All,

I am trying to send all my client indexes to a specific tape (right now I only have about 20MB worth of indexes).  All my groups are set up to NOT back up indexes, and I have one group set up to back up indexes only.  I have a media pool created for this purpose, and I labeled a tape and placed it in this media pool.  Now, when I run my index-only job, it requires two tapes for some reason.  It writes to one, and then mounts and unlabeled tape, labels it and places it in the index-only pool.  All my save sets are on one tape, and the other is empty.  Any ideas on how I can send this index-only job to just one tape?

I am using NetWorker 7.6.3, and a Spectra Logic T50e LTO5 autoloader.

I am also pretty new to NetWorker, so if you need more information from me please let me know.

Thanks!

Jon

16 Posts

March 2nd, 2012 12:00

As a followup, I realized that in the state of testing I'm in currently, the NetWorker server was not in an enabled group, which caused every group to back up the bootstrap.  I found this solution that helped me understand what was going on.

https://solutions.emc.com/emcsolutionview.asp?id=esg61499

544 Posts

Did you configured this pool as mentioned in the following Powerlink solution:

https://solutions.emc.com/emcsolutionview.asp?id=esg54449

16 Posts

Yes, it's configured that way.  Here's what shows up in the log when I start the Indexes-only job:

Waiting Wednesday 3:35:33 PM event media Media waiting event: Waiting for 2 writable volume(s) to backup pool 'Indexes' tape(s) on servera.domain.com
Info Wednesday 3:35:33 PM event media Media event cleared: Waiting for 1 writable volume(s) to backup pool 'Indexes' tape(s) on servera.domain.com