Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

September 1st, 2010 23:00

Networker and tapes expiration

Hi All,

First of all - I am new with Networker backup software.

I have problem with tapes expiration on my backup server. I don't know why, but they always expires exactly one year after first backup was saved to the tape.

For example I have a group which creates full backup during weekend, during week days inceremental and all is saved on tape pool which should store backups for two weekes - but the tape expiration after backup is set after one year.

Can anyone help me please with this problem?

Thanks a lot!

2K Posts

September 2nd, 2010 00:00

This is because a tape expires by the date as per the retention period of the save sets backed up.

By default, backup server has a retention policy of 1 year and indexes are backed up on the same tape on which backup is taken. Index is a backup server save set. So at end of the backup, indexes are backed up on the tape with one year retention as set for backup server. Therefore, the tape expires after one year even if other client's save sets are having two weeks retention period.

Ways to resolve:

1. Reduce the retention period of the client resource of backup server to be equal to or less than the retention period of the clients in the same group.

2. Configure your backup setup such that the indexes are backed up on a separate dedicated media other than the media on which client save sets are backed up. This way you can have index retention of one year although if the backup media (on which client save sets were backed up) lasts for two weeks only then there is no point retaining indexes.

2K Posts

2. Is it possible to save index each time on the same media where the backup is done? If i lost tape with Index I would have a problem with DR and restoring some data