Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

March 24th, 2010 09:00

Permanent licensing

Hi list,
I am new to EMC Networker...I am a TSM Senior Consultant and I have now an EMC Networker to take care of...I have an environment running NW 7.5 on Windows 2008....several NW Clients both on Windows and Linux....and several NW Modules for SAP and Oracle, also on Linux and Windows.
The NW Server, 2 Storage Nodes and 4 NW Module for SAP with Oracle are running with an enabler that will expire 6 days from now.
I have already downloaded the permanent licence, auth and enabler keys from the EMC Powerlink website for the NW Server and StgNodes...and entered it through the Licensing option at the NW Management Console.
I´ve read something about having to delete the enablers that show up in the Registration option at the NW Administration console...but I cannot do it....I get this message saying that I cannot delete it...
Also...yesterday the Licensing option was showing "Authorized - No expiration date" at the EXPIRATION DATE collumn...today it is showing "Never Ran"....what does it mean?
The whole process is very confusing....Any help is appreciated.
Mario

22 Posts

March 24th, 2010 10:00

Hello Mario -

1) If you've applied the permanent enablers and the auth codes, then those licenses should be confirmed as 'no expiration'. Nothing in my experience leads me to believe that NetWorker would undo this operation once it's successfully completed.

2) I don't think you need to delete the temporary codes. Those should just expire and NetWorker should simply consume the permanent enablers. But you should be able to delete after expiration. I do this on my test server all the time.

3) When you 'delete' a license, NetWorker makes you perform the action twice to minimze risk to operator error.

4) The 'Never ran' message is unfamiliar to me. Is this status asosciated with the temp enablers or the permanent enablers? I can't determine from your posting.