Highlighted
dangapinski
1 Nickel

Recovering with no client

Jump to solution

Hello,

I am brand new to using Networker, and inherited a v. 8 server with a bunch of expired tapes. With a lot of reading, I was able to make the expired savesets browseable (yay!), but am getting this error when I recover a few files: "No matching devices on 'server' for recover by client 'clientname'"

The server is the original server, but I had to use a different tape library (old one doesn't work anymore). The client doesn't exist anymore. I read in another discussion (https://community.emc.com/thread/119521?tstart=0 ) that I'd need to make a dummy client, but I am not sure how.

Is there another way to recover a few files without the client present?

Many thanks for your thoughts!

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
wlee4
2 Iron

Re: Recovering with no client

Jump to solution

I see 2 devices. One is the \\.\Tape#### (correct path to the new library) and the other device is the serverfqdn:\\.\Tape#### path

Since both drives are the server drives... this seems to be a tape drive configuration issue.  Because of this confusion, this could be the reason why NetWorker is unable to find a device to use to read the tape.

I had to use a different tape library (old one doesn't work anymore).

Is the old tape library still defined in NetWorker?  Is it still connected?  Is the new tape library defined and configured in NetWorker?

Required volume [tape barcode]'s status is near-line

near-line usually means that NetWorker has access to the tape, but it is unable to find a free device to load and mount the tape onto.  What type of tape media is this?  Do you currently have a tape drive that supports loading and reading this type of media?

Suggestion.

1. stop all NetWorker services, and then make a backup copy of nsr\res amd  nsr\mm directories