Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

June 20th, 2014 03:00

adding volume to media pool.

Hi I have the following on my system.

However when i try create a third device in the filesystem pool it uses the same volume name as the second pool.

how would this have been created?

I am a newbie BTW. Page 215 on the networker guide does not help me much

47 Posts

June 20th, 2014 03:00

It is just following templates.

Please override the defualt with the label of your choice.

124 Posts

June 20th, 2014 04:00

hi i agree with you that it should follow the template. when i look at my tremplate it shows it as follows.

to give you an idea of what happens i have run a test.

I created these 3 devices.

so now i go to label my device.

I then get this screen.if i change it to 002.

and then.

47 Posts

June 20th, 2014 05:00

'In use' has two meanings:

- The media could be in use

- If you run the task too early after creating the device, you may also see the issue. Just retry a little bit later.

47 Posts

June 20th, 2014 05:00

Do you work with 'Auto Media Management' (AMM) at all?

If so, you give full control to NetWorker.

If you want to override AMM and control a device manually, you must disable AMM first.

124 Posts

June 20th, 2014 06:00

I have disabled AMM

14.3K Posts

June 20th, 2014 11:00

From what I see in screenshot you provided, you didn't select 3rd device, but rather first one.

124 Posts

June 22nd, 2014 23:00

Hi Hrvoje

That is my point I when i try an create a new device it defaults to the volume name of the first device.

If i look in my templates it shows the next device number to be zftest.002 but does not number it as such and tries to rename the volume name of the first device.

47 Posts

June 23rd, 2014 00:00

Whenever you label a media, the very first step of a backup program is that it verifies whether the media already contains a valid label. And the default behavior is to reuse/recycle it.