Highlighted
FrankLiu
2 Iron

client's saveset deleted after BMR from other client's backup

Jump to solution

We meet this problem:

Backup server running windows 2008 and Networker 8.1.1.3, use local disk as AFTD device,labled  to default pool.

Client server (serverA) running windows 2003 backuped All to the backup server.

The client's disk failed and need to be recovered. The backuped savesets on the backup server are existed.

We first try to use BMR CD to do the recover and find Windows 2003 is not supported.Then we decide to reinstall the OS first.

During the prepare, we try to use BMR to recover the backup server's saveset to this client ,to test the BMR function.

In the BMR wizard ,the client configed to it's original name (serverA) and ip address.Then we see a warning of conflict about this client in nsrladb.

We use naradmin deleted the client's (serverA) NSR peer information. And use the BMR wizard recover the backup server's saveset to this client.

The BMR test finished.

Then we reinstall the client's OS to Windows 2003. The server name and IP address unchanged.Install the networker client. Use Networker User to recover the files that backuped early. But we can't find any file to recover. Then we turn back to the server and find that client's saveset are all disappered. Check the server's log ,the server has delete those savesets sometime after we finished the BMR.

We want to know, which action we taked caused the server delete the savesets? How to avoid the server delete this savesets?

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
nmc2
3 Argentium

Re: client's saveset deleted after BMR from other client's backup

Jump to solution

It looks like saveset might have passed retention or explicitly deleted by some one.
NetWorker wont delete the saveset by itself until the retention time is over.


Verify the demon.raw, see is there message related to this.


Regards,

Prajith

0 Kudos
2 Replies
nmc2
3 Argentium

Re: client's saveset deleted after BMR from other client's backup

Jump to solution

It looks like saveset might have passed retention or explicitly deleted by some one.
NetWorker wont delete the saveset by itself until the retention time is over.


Verify the demon.raw, see is there message related to this.


Regards,

Prajith

0 Kudos
FrankLiu
2 Iron

Re: client's saveset deleted after BMR from other client's backup

Jump to solution

Ahhhhhhh,yes! You are right.

It's a testing system and haven't make any backup for several days.

And just before we do the recover ,we make a new backup, which trigger the nsrim clean the expired savesets.

0 Kudos