Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

February 21st, 2014 06:00

need to scan a saveset located on a data-domain

Hi,

I'm familiar with networker and -disk/tape devices but I'm new in working with data-domain.

The backup-zone I need to "support" is not mine so, I do not know that much of how it was configured.

I need to rebuild client index data and so I want to scan an index backup saveset.

I was guessing about a scanner -m -S but I don't know how to address the data-domain device.

NetWorker Server is windows based. (NetWorker 8.0.2)

may someone help me

2.4K Posts

February 21st, 2014 06:00

"scanner -m -S ... " is wrong. It is a valid command. However it will only return the save set information which you already have (the SSID). Also, on Windows, if you do not redirect the output, it will forward all data and send it to your screen. This does not make sense at all.

"scanner -i -S ..." is the correct command, apllied to a data save set, not to an index save set.

You must then specify the device path which you get from the "Device Access Information" attribute.

Be aware that scanner is a local command. Execute it on the storage node where the device is attached.

-------------------------------

A probably faster and easier way is to run a save set recovery to a temp directory and get your files from here. This will also avoid scanning which may take hours.

-------------------------------

And if you know the pathname frecisely, you could also get a subset from the save set. Use a command like

recover .... -S -a

The pathname must match precisely (watch out upper and lower case letters).

3 Posts

February 21st, 2014 07:00

the problem is as follows:

the backup of several windows VM's are scheduled by a savegroup, performin level full and went towards a data-domain.

however there are no client index data available (at least for clients of this group).