Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 25th, 2011 11:00

port settings.... for Networker 7.5.2

Hello everyone...

I am a newbie to Networker and have taught my self everything so far.  It has truly been a painful process.  However, I am really having fun, need some help

I having some issues with my network device.  I see the device under devices which is under the library.  However, when I scan for devices the jukebox does not see the device.  I check the HP Tape Library and Tools the scan fails on scanning devices.   Unrecognized SCSI Adapter - tells me.

So the magic question is - Do I have a failing drive on my hands.  When I do the health check it comes back good.

Any suggestions or help --- please.

Thanks,

Newbie - JTH

July 25th, 2011 17:00

I assume you have configured this correctly in the past and been backing up okay to it (which would explain why you can see this in the GUI)?  Now you are having issues and inquire returns nothing (and a SCSI error) which sounds like a hardware issue to me, not necessarily the drive which is at fault.  Does anything else get returned by inquire (do you have other devices including library which should be visible) or does it hang/fail?  What steps have you taken to resolve this - reboot server, power cycle library etc. ?

July 26th, 2011 06:00

Power cycle the drive first, you can also check whether any error indicators are shown on the drive.

17 Posts

July 26th, 2011 06:00

Hi David.

I have a silly question - I have not power cycled any of the hard ware yet.  I was wondering which order is best.... power cycle the server first or power cycle the tape library.

When I open the HP Tape library and tools it still have an error of STOP - un recognized SCSI adapter - Maybe you are right rebooting the tape library and the server will be a way of refreshing the connection of both.