Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

January 21st, 2014 15:00

Help with Powerconnect 3524 setup

Hi Guys bit of a newbie here , Set up a few switches before but not as complex as what I hope to achieve here.

Basically I have a leased line and a Powerconnect 3524 switch and desire to have multiple Public IP address which can be pointed to servers 1 and 2 , the servers also have private IP address's so the workstations don't have to leave the network to gain access locally. The workstations should also be able to access the internet. Can someone help me out do I need multiple VLANS ? , How do I go about setting this up ?

Any help is much appreciated

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

January 22nd, 2014 06:00

VLANs will be the way to go, along with some communication with your ISP. Find out what VLAN the public IP addresses belong to on the Cisco switch. And ask them if the port is set to Trunk mode.

As an example say they indicate the public IP addresses are on VLAN 222. Then on the 3524 you will need to create VLAN 222. Place ports that the server NIC with the public IP address into access mode for VLAN 222. Then place the port that connects to the Cisco into Trunk mode.

Place the 192.168.0.x traffic all into the PVID which by default is VLAN 1.

That is probably the easiest method. If you anticipate future growth and the need to use more VLANs to segregate traffic, you will need to communicate with your ISP and see what VLANs are in use on the Cisco, see if they can create new VLANs for you to use, etc.

Keep us updated.

5 Posts

January 22nd, 2014 09:00

Thanks Daniel,

Ok so after communicating with the ISP they informed me that the public IP address's were on VLAN 2 and that that my port shouldnt need to be on trunk mode and that I should try without first as there switch should appear transparent. 

I have created VLAN 2 on the 3524  and placed e1 and e2 ports into access mode on VLAN 2