Start a Conversation

Unsolved

D

10 Posts

July 23rd, 2018 02:00

Migrating N series switches to stack config

Hello,

I have deployed a N1524 switch and the customer is so happy that wants to swap the existing old 48p switch connected to his N1524 with a new N1548. Of course, I am gonna stack them, so that I can profit of a 10 gigabit backbone between the two. The idea is that N1524 would be the master and N1548 its slave. It's my first time to do this.

Usually procedures documented online are about creating a new stack from scratch, but I haven't yet seen a procedure with an already running config in mind. First I would like to ask if the procedure I would like to adopt is correct. Second, I have some questions left.

CANDIDATE PROCEDURE

0. backup N1524 running config

1. upgrade FW on both switches

2. stack ports on running N1524 and reload

3. stack ports on N1548 and shutdown

4. connect SFP+ cables: considering it's just two switches, should I cross them (port 1 on switch N1524 with port 2 on switch N1548 and vice versa) or anything goes (like port 1 on switch N1524 with port 1 on switch N1548 and vice versa)?

5. power on N1548

QUESTIONS

1. is the above procedure correct? will the N1548 directly inherit config from N1524 (of course not for its own ports) or will configurations be somehow smoked?

2. will I see the stack as a single whole switch when connecting to N1524?

3. what happens if I connect to N1548 by serial cable? And by ssh, will it have a different IP? Will I see the same config as from N1524?