Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

May 10th, 2012 05:00

Power Connect 5548 LAG LCAP Settings

Hi Please forgive me but im quite new to managed switches but eager to learn and to configure my network in an optimal way.

Basically we currently have A watchguard Firebox (firewall) with VLAN rules plugged into one of  5 Nortel Switches in a stack and have aquired 2 New Dell 5548's setup with HDMI in a stack which I want to connect to the nortel stack in a redundant manner, after some reasearch it seems that creating a LAG using LACP is the way to proceed here. The Nortel stack, Consists of 1x 4548GT-PWR and 4x 4550T-PWR.

Now Ive done a lot of searching and Ive configured the dell switches ready for the connection but i want to make sure I have everything on the dell side setup correctly before i plug into the Nortel switches which I should have some help doing from our phone system support.

So in order to Help clarify what it is that I need. The network we currently run has around 8 VLANS some listed below:

VLAN 1, C-LAN, Computer LAN for the Client Machines
VLAN 50, S-LAN, Servers etc
VLAN 120, T-LAN, Telephone Lan, Nortel VOIP System*
VLAN 60, V-LAN, Phone servers and recording etc*

*we wont have any VOIP phones on these switches as the switches are not POE but may have some phone system componants in the future, However I will try to keep all phone system traffic on the Nortel Switches as they will have all the relevant settings for that.
Note no ISCSI Traffic (we will have seperate switches for this and dell are setting these up)