Highlighted
Ghtais
Bronze

unmanagement mode on 2824

Jump to solution

Hi all,

i'am trying to switch from unmanagement to management mode on a 2824 but It dosen't work.

I pressed the button mode on the front panel for more than 7 seconds, then the switch has rebooted. During the reboot I had the green light mode Flashing.

And when the switch has finished to reboot, It was in an unmanagement mode again :/

Do you have any idea why It starts alway with the unmanagement mode ?

thank you for your help.

0 Kudos
11 Replies
Moderator
Moderator

RE: unmanagement mode on 2824

Jump to solution

It sounds like you are following the right process to change modes. Page 42 of the user guide details the process in a flow chart, might take a look at it to double check the process.

http://dell.to/28JdImh

Do you have a serial cable you can use to make a console connection to the switch? With a console connection you can view the boot process, may lend some insight.

Daniel Covey
Dell EMC| Enterprise Support Services
Get support on Twitter:@DellCaresPRO
Download our QRL app:iOS, Android, Windows
Dell Networking Resources

0 Kudos
Ghtais
Bronze

RE: unmanagement mode on 2824

Jump to solution

Hi Daniel,

thank you for your reply

Yes I have a serial cable. Let me put here some part of console information 

------ Performing the Power-On Self Test (POST) ------
UART Channel Loopback Test........................PASS
Testing the System SDRAM..........................PASS
Boot1 Checksum Test...............................PASS
Boot2 Checksum Test...............................PASS
Flash Image Validation Test.......................PASS
BOOT Software Version 1.0.0.12 Built  08-Feb-2009  17:19:21
 Board Type - PowerConnect 2824
 PowerConnect 2824 board based on FireFox 88E6218 ARM946E-S processor  
 64 MByte SDRAM. I-Cache 8 KB. D-Cache 8 KB. Cache Enabled.
MAC Address   :  00:25:64:26:49:fb.
Autoboot in 2 seconds - press RETURN or Esc. to abort and enter prom.
Preparing to decompress... 
 0%
 50%
 100%
Decompressing SW from image-1
0%
....
100%
OK
Running from RAM...
Operational Mode old state managed; new state unmanaged
Operational Mode - new mode is unmanaged
*********************************************************************
*** Running  SW  Ver. 1.0.0.33  Date  17-Feb-2009  Time  17:33:52 ***
*********************************************************************
HW version is 00.00.02
Base Mac address is: 00:25:64:26:49:fb
Dram size is  : 64M bytes
Dram first block size is  : 46380K bytes
Dram first PTR is  : 0x12B5000
Flash size is: 8M
01-Jan-2000 00:00:05 %CDB-I-LOADCONFIG: Loading startup configuration.
Device configuration:
Slot 1 - PowerConnect 2824
------------------------------------
-- Unit Standalone                --
------------------------------------
Tapi Version: v1.3.3.1
Core Version: v1.3.3.1
01-Jan-2000 00:00:18 %INIT-I-InitCompleted: Initialization task is completed
Unknown parameter
May be one from the following list:
01-Jan-2000 00:00:18 %Fiber-I-SFP-PRESENT-CHNG: g23 SFP status is present.
01-Jan-2000 00:00:18 %Environment-I-FAN-STAT-CHNG: FAN# 1 status changed - operational.
01-Jan-2000 00:00:18 %Environment-I-FAN-STAT-CHNG: FAN# 1 status changed - operational.
01-Jan-2000 00:00:18 %Entity-I-SEND-ENT-CONF-CHANGE-TRAP: entity configuration change trap.
debug             help              mcli              
>01-Jan-2000 00:00:18 %SNMP-I-CDBITEMSNUM: Number of startup configuration items loaded: 0
 

It says "Old stated managed" but It wasn't the case before I push the mode button. 
It seems that It wants to switch for managed mode but during the reboot process it switch again to unmanaged mode and I don't understand why ...
0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator

RE: unmanagement mode on 2824

Jump to solution

I suggest trying to re-flash the firmware on the switch. See if that can get it out of this loop.

To get to the boot menu press esc/enter when prompted.

Autoboot in 2 seconds - press RETURN or Esc. to abort and enter prom.

You should now be presented with the boot menu.

Startup Menu
[1] Download Software
[2] Erase Flash File
[3] Password Recovery Procedure
[4] Enter Diagnostic Mode
[5] Set Terminal Baud-Rate
[6 ] Stack menu
[7] Back
Enter your choice or press 'ESC' to exit:

Select option 1 to download the latest firmware. These instructions can also be found in the PDF that is included with the firmware download.

http://dell.to/2dEgOIM

This method of update is slow, so plan accordingly.

Daniel Covey
Dell EMC| Enterprise Support Services
Get support on Twitter:@DellCaresPRO
Download our QRL app:iOS, Android, Windows
Dell Networking Resources

0 Kudos
Ghtais
Bronze

RE: unmanagement mode on 2824

Jump to solution

Hi Daniel 

I followed your suggestion and flashed the firmware. Now I'am with ver 1.0.0.45

But still have the same issue. It refuses to start with the managed mode.

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator

RE: unmanagement mode on 2824

Jump to solution

I am not sure that there is anything else we can try. Have you tried unplugging the system from power, letting is sit for a few minutes, then plug in and attempt managed mode again? It could be that the manage mode button itself is not physically functioning properly. Is the unit under any warranty?

Daniel Covey
Dell EMC| Enterprise Support Services
Get support on Twitter:@DellCaresPRO
Download our QRL app:iOS, Android, Windows
Dell Networking Resources

0 Kudos
Ghtais
Bronze

RE: unmanagement mode on 2824

Jump to solution

Yes I tried to unplugged the power cord for a few minutes but It doesn't change anything.

I think that the button is ok because when I pressed it for more than 7 seconds it reboot automatically. I have a second switch, a 2824, the same, and it does exactly the same thing -> pressed button for more than 7 seconds, rebooting, during the reboot sequence i have the green managed mode LED flashing and after that remains in unmanaged mode with the light off.

there is something that block the process. perhaps the configuration file in the flash ?

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator

RE: unmanagement mode on 2824

Jump to solution

I am not aware of anything in a config that would prevent the transition. You could try erasing the flash to be sure something isn't interfering. Option 2 in the boot menu.

Daniel Covey
Dell EMC| Enterprise Support Services
Get support on Twitter:@DellCaresPRO
Download our QRL app:iOS, Android, Windows
Dell Networking Resources

0 Kudos
Ghtais
Bronze

RE: unmanagement mode on 2824

Jump to solution

Ok I get it !!

I found the right process on the web. Unfortunately I can copy/paste the link here. 

To switch from unmanaged to managed mode you have to  press the "Mode" button on the front panel 4 or 5 times ! that's the key. 

In the manual they said "press the button for more than 7 seconds" but it doesn't work.

thank you Daniel for your help and hope this post help.

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator

RE: unmanagement mode on 2824

Jump to solution

Oh, wow, so you just pressed the button repeatedly? Was there any time spent holding the button between presses?

Glad to hear you got it switched over to managed mode.

Daniel Covey
Dell EMC| Enterprise Support Services
Get support on Twitter:@DellCaresPRO
Download our QRL app:iOS, Android, Windows
Dell Networking Resources

0 Kudos