Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

March 19th, 2009 16:00

Blue screen of death - HELP Please!

I'm not really good at technical talk so I hope I can give you all the information you need to try and help me. I appreciate any help, and thank you for taking the time to try and explain this all to me, please explain it like you're telling a teenager so maybe I can follow all the steps.

I think it all started with a download from AT&T Yahoo for their anti virus suite package. After I did that download all my bookmarks went missing. They're around somewhere because if you go to bookmarks.yahoo.com they are there but not when I click on my bookmarks icon. If I try to add a bookmark there is an error that it failed. I don't know if that started ALL the following problems but maybe so I included it just in case.

After this, another family member was on the computer and when I went to the dell user log in screen to go back to my user I got a pop-up, I believe it said the DEP protection (maybe it said DOP?) needed to be turned off for some reason or another (sorry I really don't know what any of it meant). So I clicked on what should I do? and that gave me a help screen with zero advice on what to do it was more just background on the DEP (DOP?) functions (I hope that makes sense) at the bottom of the screen there was related articles, I clicked on a related article that was titled what should you do and I got a TON of little windows that popped up saying do you want to display the secure and non secure items. I tried closing them by clicking no over and over but it was taking forever so I shut it down. I don't know if it downloaded or was trying to download something but I have a feeling it was.