Rumments
1 Nickel

Inspirion 7000 centrino wifi horrid and Dell costing me a lot of money for a 20 dollar part

Hi, 

I spent over 1300 for a dell laptop 7000 series which came with a centrino 2230 wifi. This wifi unit is a piece of ****.  all over the net you can read how this particular card does not work. how you have to delete newer drivers, and then reinstall the old one which then works.

i am a IT professional with 35 years experience and i adm getting very tired of having to keep reinstalling an old driver over and over. and now with win 8.1 and the newere win10 both will update this driver on their own without you being able to stop it, and so, my job is to keep replacing the driver for a card that was not integrated according to standards so that new drivers would work.

but today is the last straw.. i had my wife call and what we wanted was them to send us a new card for me to install and replace the garbage one that there are hundreds of claims on the net for. instead they gave her a three hour run around... in three hours she can make more than 100 dollars except that she isnt getting paid. they transferred her from place to place, did not offer a card, tried to get her to do a driver replacement which she cant do, and which by the time we use it again will be replaced by windows cause windows is doing upgrades and DELL requires you to not upgrade drivers and software to work right.

now DELL wants me to call tonight and i have work i have to do, and should i bill them for my wifes time, and my time too? this is making a 1300 computer cost me more than 2000. its not worth it as this is not a college book for some kid to watch netflix on, this was bought for me to do work on, and i work in research computing.  more time will cost me more money. and the clowns on the phone give a run around.