Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

April 15th, 2009 23:00

Inspiron 9300 Lost NIC

My friends laptop needs a windows reload.  Everything goes exactly as planned.  I grab all the latest drivers from Dell's driver pages and install them in the order they specify on the install order document.  All is well EXCEPT there is only the wireless network adapter showing up in the device manager, no NIC.  I know this NIC was working before the reformat/re-install because I used it to connect to my network to backup my friends stuff before the clean install.  I have seen a few other folks with this sort of problem around the internet but there were no solutions posted.  Yes, the integrated NIC is enabled in the BIOS.  Not being a Dell expert I'm sort of stumped on this deal and would appreciate if anyone knows the secret solution to the disappearing NIC.

Thank you,

TC Harp

9 Legend

• 

30.3K Posts

April 16th, 2009 02:00

tcharp,

You need to install the desktop/notebook software first and the chipset drivers or the rest of the drivers won't install.

How to Install Drivers in Microsoft® Windows® on Dell Systems

Since the operating system was re-installed did you remember to go to drivers and downloads, enter your service tag(DO NOT POST SERVICE TAG here or your post will get deleted, since it contains your personal information), and install these drivers in this order.

:emotion-55: Hint :emotion-55: When downloading the drivers, make a folder for each drivers and name it with the device it belongs with to make it easier to install them in the proper order.

Desktop System Software or Notebook System Software
Chipset or SMBus driver
Processor Driver (if applicable)
Video
Audio (sound)
Input Drivers (keyboard/mouse)
Modem
Network Card

QuickSet(Laptop only)

Rick

6 Posts

April 16th, 2009 06:00