Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

R

November 13th, 2015 08:00

Stuck in Airplane Mode No Nireless or WiFi

If You Are Locked Out Of WiFi, Go To Device Manager, Then Go To Human Interface Devices, Open Human Interface Devices, Select to (DISABLE Airplane mode switch collection) (NOT Airplane Mode Switch). it has worked on My 4 Dells, a Inspiron 17 7737, 2 Inspiron 15 7537 and a Inspiron 15 3521 all Running Windows 10.  Hope This Helps Since Everyone Thinks It Is A Physical Button/Switch Problem On The Keyboard Which It Is Not.

I Am Not An Expert, But It Worked For Me Until They Figure This Problem Out.

KsR

1.8K Posts

November 15th, 2015 16:00

Hi KsR,

Thanks for the info.  I'm bumping this up and adding a few tags so that others can find this information a bit easier if they're searching.

Thanks again,

Todd

1 Message

November 30th, 2015 23:00

WORKS!

1 Message

December 30th, 2015 05:00

That's a great answer - thanks for digging it out.  Once I'd disabled the airplane switch collection, I had a go at re-enabling it, and it behaved perfectly, letting me turn the mode on and off at will.

However...

The WiFi connection itself is now broken.  The WiFi indicator light doesn't come on, and the WiFi icon sits there in the bottom right corner complaining that it's not got a connection.  Windows diagnostics are no good, limply suggesting that I flick the hardware switch to turn the radio on.  I've tried all the diagnostics I can think of, and I've disabled/re-enabled the adaptor, upgraded the driver, done loads of reboots, and so on.

The only option that remains is to revert to Windows 7.  Before I do that, does anyone have any thoughts about what else to try ?

Cheers, Russell

1 Message

September 5th, 2016 05:00

How do I find device manager?

7 Technologist

• 

16K Posts

September 6th, 2016 10:00

Right click the start button and select Device Manager.

1 Message

September 12th, 2016 09:00