Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

September 7th, 2013 07:00

Windows 7 64bit Internet not working

HI guys,

I have a e5430 laptop, I installed windows 7 today and now the internet is not working at all, with ethernet cable or wirelesly. In device manager the following have a yellow triangle with a exclamation mark next to them-

Network Controller

PCI Simple Communications Controller

SM Bus Controller

Universal Serial Bus (USB) Controller

Unknown Device

I have been told I need to download some drivers, but from where (Links) or what else do I need to do?

I am an internet novice so I realy do nedd some help.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Regards.

7 Technologist

• 

7.1K Posts

September 7th, 2013 19:00

Hi Jui01,

As I see that many important drivers are not installed on your system. Please enter your service tag # on the link below, select the Operating system, then download all the drivers onto the system and install it.

http://dell.to/18r60nI

Also, please refer to the link below for correct order for installing the drivers on the computer.

http://dell.to/18LnbPL

Please let me know if this helps.

8 Posts

September 12th, 2013 08:00

Hi,

Thanks for the reply, I have done what you have asked and now only have 2 items with the yellow exclamation mark next to it;

Network Controller- PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0082&SUSYS_13218086&REV_34

Unknown Device- ACPI\SMO8810    

When I tried to download the driver for the wireless card an error message appeared and said your machine needs to be 32bit or great. The laptop has 64bit Windows 7 installed.

If you know how I can resolve this issue that would be great..

7 Technologist

• 

7.1K Posts

September 17th, 2013 05:00

Hi Jui01,

Please send me a private message with the computer's service tag, Name registered during the system purchase and email address so that I can check what can be done. To send a private message, click on my name and select send private message.