Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

January 18th, 2010 18:00

Windows icon says I'm not connected to the internet when I am, causes networking issues

First off, I'm new to the dell community so I apologize if this has been posted before. But this problem is really annoying...

I have been fixing computers and doing IT work for people for years, never have I had a problem that was as frustrating as this.

I am fixing a friends Dell Inspiron 1525 laptop which was running Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit. They kept telling me that their internet worked and was functioning however the wireless icon in the system tray displays a red "X" over the connection and mousing over it the wireless menu displays "not connected" however in the list of wireless networks below it has the network name and says it is connected.

I have done a ton of research on the suject and it seems like many people have this problem but their aren't any real solutions. I did find a link to a Microsoft support page hat simply said that you can "safely ignore" the problem. I could understand this because browsing the web still works, however it prevents me from connecting to shared printers, other computers, or using windows updates.

I upgraded to Windows 7 Ultimate in hopes that this would take care of the problem, but with no luck.

I have tried installing all of the new drivers, removing the dell wireless utility, the SSID is protected and not the factory default, and power cycling all of the hardware, and all of the other basic fixes that one would think of. Still no luck.

Does anyone have any concrete advice for solving this issue?

3 Posts

Thanks for responding, the connection is over wireless. The ethernet card is disabled as they do not use it. Running a ethernet cable to the laptop is not an available option, unfortunately.

4 Operator

• 

20.1K Posts