Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

December 2nd, 2008 11:00

Wireless Networking on a Dell Inspiron mini 9 (910) under Ubuntu

I'm having a lot of trouble getting the wireless networking to connect to the Internet (I am a total Ubuntu novice, so please bear with me)

My connection does not show up on the wireless connection list, using the network manager icon, when I choose to connect to a different wireless network and enter the SSID and WPA password, it say it connects 100%, the 5 signal bars go blue, but theres no Internet connectivity as far as I can see it.

I opened a Terminal window and used the ifconfig command

it reports the following devices

eth0
eth1
lo

eth0 and eth1 have two different MAC Addresses, but putting both in my routers access table, doesn't make much difference..

If I try to set up the connection manually (eth1 seems to be the one connected to the manual wireless connection setup), connection settings to Automatic DHCP, I still get no joy with the Internet.

From the ifconfig report eth1 seems to have an ever increasing number of TX packet errors

iwconfig gives me

lo : no wireless extensions
eth0: no wireless extensions
eth1: IEEE 802.11 Nickname "", Access Point: Not-Associated

ip addr gives me

lo mtu 16436 qdisc noqueue
eth0 mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast qlen 1000
eth1 mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast qlen 1000

and on odd occasions I seem to get

eth1:avahi showing up, but I have no idea what this is.

Can anyone point me in the right direction when it comes to troubleshooting setting up a wireless connection on an Inspiron Mini 9, I have no idea what version of Ubuntu is on it, but some of the tools don't seem to work properly..

The nm-editor version 0.6.6 won't let me set up Wireless connections, I can type in the connection name, but it won't let me edit the BBSID field or any other field.