Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

M

February 15th, 2018 07:00

780, Will not detect second monitor

I'm a student at an networking academy and we are trying to setup dual monitors on our Optiplex 780s.  The monitors are the same type.  We recently changed our operating systems over from Windows Server 2012 to Windows 10.  Since the 780 only has one VGA input we ordered display port to VGA adapters.  We are using integrated graphics.  When we powered them up they displayed the same image on both screens.  It is unable to detect the second monitor.  The computers operate on a separate network and are unable to connect to the Internet for any automatic updates.  We aren't entirely sure what the problem is.  We believe it is outdated drivers but since we can't connect to the internet we are forced to do manual searches.  No one knows how to fix the problem, we could really use some help.

Community Manager

• 

54.2K Posts

February 15th, 2018 08:00

What specific monitor models?

The Optiplex 780 shipped with four different chassis? Which one is yours? Go here, open the assorted PDF's and then tell us which chassis matches yours.

64 Posts

February 17th, 2018 10:00

You cannot have more than one monitor active without installing the Intel graphics drivers.

https://downloads.dell.com/FOLDER01026826M/1/Video_Driver_1M8J9_WN_8.15.10.2869_A15.EXE

If that doesn't work:

https://downloads.dell.com/video/VIDEO_DRVR_WIN_R279357.EXE

1 Message

September 29th, 2018 11:00

I am having the same issue and can only mirror the view I can not extend the view onto another screen.  I tried both links and it is telling me that my computer does not meet the minimum requirements for this download?  Any other suggestions?

6 Professor

• 

7.3K Posts

September 29th, 2018 14:00

Are the adapters you're using 'Y' adapters?

8 Wizard

• 

47K Posts

October 3rd, 2018 11:00

No such thing as Y adapter for Display port because its digital not analog.