Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

161 Posts

December 28th, 2018 05:00

9010 SFF, no post

I have a OptiPlex 9010 SFF that's been sitting around for a while and would like to put it to use or sell it after it is fixed, if possible. I would hate to tear it down and sell off the parts as it is still in good shape and better than anything I'm running now. I'm not very good at fixing Hardware because it seems to take more knowledge about how to use a Multimeter and and other electronic stuff I don't understand.

Main Symptom:  When it is Unplugged and then plugged in again, the Two fans comes on briefly and then shut off, which I think is a good clue as to what is gone bad, if anything. My opinion is the MB, but I'm not all that knowledgeable.  Perhaps it could be the Power Supply or the Power Switch.  I've seen Power Switches go bad and make a computer come on when plugged in, but not in this way.

I did most of the cursory testing from a Linux Live USB. 

Running in Legacy with all the appropriate choices selected.

I put it through all the Dell Diagnostics with no issues.  Even downloaded the Dell Support Assistant and ran that.  I don't think this issue is going to be diagnosed by any of these tools though.  The only thing I have not done is the online diagnostics, and again that is because I don't think they will help.

At first, I tried to boot from a Linux Flash Drive to test out the Hardware but did not see the Temp Boot Order that I'm used to seeing on Dell when Pressing F12. Eventually I figured out that if I changed to boot order and the USB boot device at the top, Rebooted, and waited till I got to a Black Screen that provided a three different options.

I tried setting BIOS to Defaults which did not work. I then looked and some version of RAID was Enabled, so I set it to AHCI, and tried ATA also. Either way could not get the Temp Boot Order to come up once after many many reboots.