Start a Conversation

Unsolved

S

7 Posts

March 25th, 2020 21:00

Optiplex 7050 Ultra sff. Alert! Previous Shutdown Due to Thermal Event

Hello,

I am having a strange issue with an Optiplex 7050 Ultra Small Form Factor machine.  It is an i7 7700, with 16GB and a 2.5in solid state drive.  If I boot into Windows it gets to the point of almost loading the desktop and shuts down. Each time I power it back on it says "Alert! Previous Shutdown Due to Thermal Event."  

I called tech support they shipped me a new (refurb) motherboard, I swapped the motherboard and I am having the same exact issue.  I used the thermal paste supplied. I have been building or repairing computers professionally for over 20 years so i am confident in my abilities to swap the components.  

If I boot into bios and let it sit it will run for a long time no thermal issues, no shutdowns.  If I boot into safe mode it will run for a long time with no thermal issues, no shutdowns.  I have run the dell diagnostics and it passed completely with no issues, including the fan test.  When it is running the fan is spinning just enough where i can hear it but it is not fast or loud at all.

Is it possible there is some sort of watchdog or other software related issue causing this shutdown?  It am currently running Windows 10 (not pro) from the latest media creation tool (Win 10 version 1909).  

I booted into safe mode and looked at the event viewer, i did not see any events that seemed related or gave me any hints.

7 Posts

March 25th, 2020 22:00

I also reformatted and reinstalled Windows. I tested by removing 1 ram module at a time. I ran SFC /scannow and did not detect any issues. I booted into safe mode and disabled all non-Microsoft services and startup items.

I disabled automatic restart on failure which isn't really applicable but I tried it anyways. The machine is powering off completely, it doesn't restart until power button is pushed to power on again.