Highlighted
3 Argentum

Optiplex 755

Jump to solution

Optiplex 755

I put in a larger hard drive and moved the old one to the 2nd slot. Plugged in the power which was already there. New Dell SATA cable from drive to socket marked SATA on the mother board. 2nd drive does not show up in BIOs. What am I missing.

Novice here, keep it simple, Please.

Thank you.

0 Kudos
2 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
3 Argentum

Re: Optiplex 755

Jump to solution

Why would I try the 4th port.  The 2nd drive shows in the SATA-2 port. There are only two drive slots.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Highlighted
5 Tungsten

Re: Optiplex 755 MT

Jump to solution

I just typed a whole reply without being signed in and lost it.

You have 2 bays for HDD's.  That shouldn't be hangup for trying the SATA-3 port and seeing if both HDD's then show in the boot menu.  My suggestions are what I would try if having the same problem(s) on my 755 (currently for sale).

If a computer shop determined a SATA port isn't working, it would likely mean a new MB (motherboard) on a 12 yr. old PC.  Might be time for something newer if it keeps giving you trouble.

- Please kudos posts you like!
- Please "Accept as Solution" posts that are a solution.
- If you have an Optiplex, stating its model number AND size speeds up troubleshooting. Components vary.

Code of Conduct
TechSupport YouTube

I'm a big fan of Dell, a Dell user, and not an employee. This forum is mainly user to user with occasional moderation or additional knowledge by a Rockstar or Dell employee.

0 Kudos
42 Replies
Highlighted
3 Cadmium

Jump to solution

Try resetting the bios: Unplug the power cord. press and hold the power button for 10 sec or more. Remove the coin cell battery for about 10 min. Then put it back in. Plug power cord to the wall outlet. Start the computer and see if bios finds it.

Unless the battery has been recently replaced, it also might be a good time to pop in a new battery.

0 Kudos
Highlighted