Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

January 24th, 2013 07:00

Dell Poweredge 2950 HDD Fault; need advice on hot swapping the drive

This server houses our small business database, so I don’t want to do anything that might corrupt the data on it.  The other IT staff (a programmer) backs up the files to external hard drives.  I’m new in the IT field, so I could use some advice.  I did not set up the server, and of course the server is a few months out of warranty at this point.

The LED display panel on the front of the server shows this error – “E1810 HDD ## Fault”.  I have no way to manage this server, as it was set up as all virtual machines in VMWare ESXi 4.  Right now the programmer doesn’t want to install Dell OpenManage, because the server would first need updated firmware, etc.  When I look at the physical server itself, I can clearly see the hard drive with issues because there are amber lights blinking instead of green.  This is the most detailed information I can get from VMWare console: 

Alert! >>Storage  - Drive 5 in enclosure 32 on controller 0 Fw:HS09 – UNCONFIGURED BAD  Warning!  RAID 5 Logical Volume 0 on controller 0, Drives (0e32,1e32,2e32,3e32,4e32,?) DEGRADED Warning!

Disk Drive Bay 1 Drive 5: Drive Fault – Assert    Alert!

Disk Drive Bay 1 Drive 4: In Critical Array – Assert   Alert!

Disk Drive Bay 1 Drive 3: In Critical Array – Assert   Alert!

Disk Drive Bay 1 Drive 2: In Critical Array – Assert   Alert!

Disk Drive Bay 1 Drive 1: In Critical Array – Assert   Alert!

Disk Drive Bay 1 Drive 0: In Critical Array – Assert   Alert!

Since I’m clueless as to what I’m dealing with here, can anyone answer the following questions for me?

I assume this is a RAID 5 configuration, correct? 

I obtained this info from the system configuration page on dell.com:

1)Backplane, Dell2950, 3.5X6SAS                                             

2)ControllerDRAC5, PE, Mid-Life Kicker