Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

March 9th, 2017 21:00

PowerEdge 420 Disk 'Non Critical'

I'm new to dell servers.

We have amber lights on 2 drivers (2TB each) on our poweredge T420 server.

Is it possible to use Life Cycle Controller during boot to replace these 2 faulty drivers because in Open Manage some information doesn't come up. Can't see the disk information & can't figure out why . We have the latest drivers for H710 & Dell Certified Drives

Our Disk configuration is: RAID-5

• 

8.4K Posts

March 10th, 2017 05:00

Madurason,

If you go to the Add/Remove Programs section and locate OpenManage Server Administrator then go to Change and then verify that the Storage element is installed. That should then allow you to see the controller and drives, after restarting OMSA.

After that we need to verify the actual states of the drives, as well as if they are showing as Predicted Failure, as there are different processes for different failures. 

Let me know what you find.

9 Posts

March 10th, 2017 06:00

Hi Chris,

Thanks for reaching out.

The Storage element is already installed.

In the Alert Logs it's mentioned as "Predictive failure reported for Physical Disk ..." for two disks.

I've also inserted two captures as well below. In the last image when i click on the "Physical Disks" it comes to an empty page

9 Posts

March 13th, 2017 02:00

Any update on this?

• 

8.4K Posts

March 13th, 2017 05:00

Thank you. If you click on the H710, is is currently up to date on firmware, showing any updates needed? If so then lets update the controller to start. The reason being is that we need to see if either of the Physical Disks are offline and Predicted Failure. There is a specific procedure for each is why we need to know.

9 Posts

March 13th, 2017 05:00

It doesn't show as update needed. I think it's the latest driver. we use win 2012 r2

Firmware Version 21.3.4-0001
Driver Version 6.805.03.00