PowerEdge HDD/SCSI/RAID

Last reply by 03-08-2013 Solved
Start a Discussion
2 Bronze

SAS drive (73GB) is not showing on ESXi 5 as available

Hi,

I bought a used PE2950 with a 250GB SATA drive on Bay1. On Bay2 I installed another 73GB SAS drive with software files and VMWare images that i needed. Both drives are setup as RAID 0. I installed ESXi and able to setup access via VSphere. However, VSphere does not show the 73GB SAS drive under storage section.

Is there something I need to do to rectify this?

I am a newbie on server management and would appreciate all your help.

Thanks,

J0

Solutions (2)

Accepted Solutions
3 Argentum

Hi there,

I just wanted to make sure I understood what you were looking at. If you click on the host in the vSphere Client, then go to the Configuration tab, select Storage in the Hardware pane, and then click View: Datastores, you may not see the 73GB disk:

If you then click the "Add Storage ..." link, select Disk/LUN, and click Next, do you see the 73GB disk in the list? If so you should be ready to go by highlighting it and clicking Next again and formatting with VMFS. However, if the disk was not already formatted with VMFS (i.e. before you copied your software files and VMware images to it) then you will lose them since formatting will start you over with a new, empty filesystem, and you would have to copy your files and images back over using the datastore browser.

Let me know if that helps or if you still can't see the disk inside Add Storage.

Download the Dell Quick Resource Locator app today to access PowerEdge support content on your mobile device! (iOS, Android, Windows)

View solution in original post

Community Accepted Solution
7 Thorium