Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

February 23rd, 2011 19:00

Poweredge 2600 cpu upgrade

Hello all,

First post here so be gentle. I'm a Networking student and i have a Poweredge 2600 w/ dual 2.4 Ghz xeon's with a 533 Mhz  fsb 604 pin, and i want to upgrade to 3.2 xeon cpu's w/ the same fsb but have a 1mb cache. Will i need to upgrade the bios for the new processors, and my biggest question, is this recomended? This machine is part of my server lab and i would rather not damage this machine or face costly repair. Is this a fairly easy process? Any help or advice would be great.

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

February 24th, 2011 05:00

Since you have the 2600 533 FSB, you have processor options to upgrade the processors in the system to accomodate a 1MB cache. - 3.2Ghz 1MB Cache 533FSB D1 Stepping

Simply call the spare parts group.  The part number is J4337. The Spare Parts Department can be reached at 1-800-357-3355. Their hours are 7 AM to 8 PM CST.

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

February 24th, 2011 07:00

With this sort of change, best practice is to ensure your hardware is completely up to date.  Specifically the BIOS and BMC.  I would also recommend that if you are making this level of change, back up your data prior to doing this.  Should something happen in bending a pin on the board or something to that effect, at least your data is not held hostage on a no POST system.

4 Posts

February 24th, 2011 07:00

So does that mean i can just install the new processors and the motherboard will support them or will i need to go through additional steps?

4 Posts

March 3rd, 2011 04:00