Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

December 2nd, 2010 05:00

Poweredge 2850 - power button doesn't work

First of all: Sorry if I've missed something obvious. I've tried to read all available documentation, but haven't found any hints.... I have some experience with Poweredge 2850 and 2950 servers (mainly replacing a HD or a PSU), but this is all new to me.

I was asked to have a look at a Poweredge 2850 one of our offices replaced because it "wasn't working properly". It has been collecting dust for a few weeks until today when I plugged it in. At first, everything looks fine: Green LEDs on PSUs light up (one LED on each PSU), LCD on front displays standard message ("Dell PowerEdge 2850" or something similar) and power button blinks green. But that's just it: The server won't start. Nothing happens when I push the power button, it just keeps flashing. The i-button works just fine (blue LED on back lights up + LCD lights up for a few seconds) but nothing else happens. Any help is appriciated! Thnx!

9.3K Posts

December 2nd, 2010 05:00

If it has a DRAC and you know the IP, username and password, you might be able to get a little info from that, but other than that you're looking at reseating everything and/or stripping the system down to bare essentials.

4 Posts

November 3rd, 2011 14:00

I'm having something very similar...  Plug it in, and the lights on the PSU are good.  Hit the power button, and the fan kicks up a little higher (not the speed that it should I don't think) - but it just sits there.  Nothing on the monitor.  If i hit the button on the back, the blue light flashes and the LCD flashes.  Otherwise, nothing.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!

4 Posts

November 3rd, 2011 15:00

And no beeps... no POST.... no nothing....

7 Technologist

• 

16.3K Posts

November 3rd, 2011 17:00

Try the following:

Clear the NVRAM using the jumpers on the motherboard.

Reseat riser card, memory, and any expansion cards.